Social Media: Past and Present

socialmediaHow Social Media interests me?

Social media has interested me since I joined in about 2004. I got to see all of my friends at school and everything but then I could come home and see what they were all doing when they weren’t at school too. It wasn’t until my senior year in high school when I really felt the importance of my social media site. I started to see everyone picking their colleges and talking about moving away and I thought I was going to lose touch with them all together. Fortunately I was wrong. Social media has become a valuable tool that we weren’t even thinking about when we signed up. Back in the 80’s or 90’s, when a class graduated from high school, they would either have to try to gather everyone’s phone number but those would always get changed. It was always useless to try and get someones address because when they moved away, it would be hard to keep track of everyone. E-Mail was just starting at this point and many people didn’t even know how to use it. The problem with each and every one of the methods was that you had to contact everyone individually. With everyone being on social media, it’s very easy to stay in contact. You can log on and instantaneously see what everyone is doing or you can go and message one person at a time. If somebody moves, their social media is still there so you aren’t burdened with trying to update everyone’s contact information.  Another part of social media that interests me is the idea that you can share photos or videos with all of your friends or just share them with certain people. I am part of a group on Facebook that is solely comprised of immediate family members where we can share photos and video of something just to update everyone else in the family.

How do I see myself using social media professionally in the years to come?

I’ve already tried to make my social media sites as professional as possible so far. I made a personal website this past year and realized that if employers go there and see all of my nice work, their going to want to know more about me so I was forced to put up my YouTube, Twitter and Facebook links. Being a Telecommunications major and hoping to get into TV one day, I’ve noticed that almost every job application for a job in my field doesn’t accept paper applications and some of the newer applications actually have space for your social media links and/or your personal website. I think in the future I’ll have to expand and put more and more video’s on YouTube or Vimeo and strive to keep everything updated. Who knows where social media will go next though. I guess I’ll just have to try to keep up and stay updated or I could get outdated with my job as well.

Leave a Reply

